top of page

Wed, May 31


Concertgebouw De Vereeniging

Dokwerk Saxophone Quartet at the Concertgebouw De Vereeniging

Dokwerk performs "Negarehaye Rangin at Concertgebouw De Vereeniging

Registration is closed
See other events
Dokwerk Saxophone Quartet at the Concertgebouw De Vereeniging
Dokwerk Saxophone Quartet at the Concertgebouw De Vereeniging

Time & Location

May 31, 2023, 12:30 PM – 1:30 PM

Concertgebouw De Vereeniging, Keizer Karelplein 2D, 6511 NC Nijmegen, Netherlands

About the Event

The program of the Dokwerk Saxophone Quartet focuses on living composers. If you leave Mozart and Beethoven aside for once and give the composers of today a voice, how will it sound this afternoon? There are as many answers as there are people because everyone is different in the world and perceives differently. And yet there are similarities, universal human movements that repeat themselves. Do you find yourself in the language and stories of one of these contemporary composers?

You could describe the program Philip Glass (*1937) as the king of minimalism. You can hear that in his ' Quartet for Saxophones ' (1995), but also that this work can be dated back to an older style period: there is more freedom, the music moves and develops faster, motifs are repeated, but it is less static.

His younger American compatriot David Biedenbender (*1984) wrote ' you've been talking in your sleep ' (2010) fascinated by sleep and dreams. Inspired by the surrealistic language his wife sometimes uses when she talks in her sleep, this piece is a kind of dialogue between her conscious 'I' and her sleeping 'I'.

The sound and atmosphere that the Irish Ian Wilson (*1964) has found in ' so softly' (1992) is somewhat unique in the repertoire for saxophone quartet. Divided into four sections, the outer two have the rhythm of the rise and fall of the breath. The piece itself is mostly gentle, almost like a lullaby, with a sense of appearing out, and disappearing into thin air. The title of the piece is inspired by the apparently very soft voice of the composer.

The youngest composer on the program is the Iranian Ramin Amin Tafreshi (*1992), who studied at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam and is a dear friend of the quartet. ' Negarehaye Rangin' (2020) means 'colourful impressions'. Ramin is inspired by the stories, melodies and harmonies in Iranian folk music, processes them and finally presents a story in his own individual compositional language. The result is a rich convergence of the cultures of East and West.

At the end of the program, a composer will still sound who has already lived at the beginning of the 20th century. In any case, the music of the German Kurt Weill (1900-1950) from his ' Dreigroschenoper ' (1928) still feels alive and current. His criticism of the corrupt capitalist company, influences of jazz music and the exuberant atmosphere of the salon and dance music capture the 'Zeitgeist' of the 1920s. The melodies are also well known to those less associated with classical music and still make people hum and hum along to this day. Music for everyone!

The quartet The Dokwerk Saxophone Quartet is a young and energetic chamber music ensemble formed in 2019. Originally from four different corners of the world, the four members, Lisa Schreiber, Jen-Hong Wu, Ileana Termini and Pedro Silva, have settled in the culturally vibrant Amsterdam found together, where they are currently studying at the Conservatory with the Dutch saxophone star Arno Bornkamp. As part of their internationally renowned saxophone class, they have already played in the main hall of the Concertgebouw and the Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ.

In September 2022, the second edition of the Chamber Music Competition Gelre took place. Dokwerk Saxophone Quartet won first prize and the Podium Prize. The quartet was awarded three masterclasses and the opportunity to give a lunchtime concert in the main hall of Concertgebouw De Vereeniging in Nijmegen.

 The Dokwerk Saxophone Quartet plays music written for saxophone quartet, ranging from the very beginning of the genre in France during the early 20th century to the most recent developments in the Dutch music landscape.

The quartet consists of: Lisa Schreiber (soprano), Jen-Hong Wu (alto), Ileana Termini (tenor) and Pedro Silva (baritone). All four of them are studying at the Saxophone Classical bachelor's program with Arno Bornkamp. Chamber Music Competition Gelre is a national competition that stimulates musical talent and draws attention to classical ensembles. The jury for the 2022 edition consisted of: Bart van de Roer (Pianist), Alena Walentin (Flutist), Maria Milstein (Violinist), Kenne Peters (On behalf of De Vereeniging).

Share This Event

bottom of page